The Raeburn Shield
The Rugby World Challenge shield
Current Holder
Previous Holders
Shield Statistics
Next Match
Contact Us
In the Press

The Raeburn Shield is a Challenge Trophy to be put up by the holder, or defender, in every match it plays home or away (in the same manner as a world boxing title, or New Zealand's Ranfurly Shield). The winner would either remain or become the holder. 

It stretches back in this manner from the very first game of International Rugby Union in 1871 between Scotland and England played at Raeburn Place in Edinburgh (Hence the name).

Scotland became the first holders and this mythical shield has changed hands many times since then.

The current holders are:

New Zealand
All Black Logo

Next Challenge:

June 2014, New Zealand

New Zealand Vs England

Help support the shield
Twitter link for Raeburn Shield

And in Japanese to honour the previous holders...

レイバーン・シールドとは現保持者が、ボクシングなどで見る直系タイトルやニュージーランドのITMカップ 内で競われるランファーリー・シールドの様に、対ライオンズ戦以外の各国際試合、ホーム・アウェイ戦同様に 防衛する架空のタイトルです。
レイバーン・シールドと言う名前の由来は、1871年(明治4年)、3月27日に行われたスコットランドと イングランドの試合会場、エジンバラに在るレイバーン・プレースから来ます。
初代チャンピオンのスコットランドに続き、このタイトルは、色んな代表チームが幾度となく競い合って勝ち取 ってきました。そして、現チャンピオンはこの間始めてウェールズを下した日本代表です。